We use cookies to help us improve our webpage. Please read our Cookie Policy .

Online Help

Shared Folders

Here you can manage your shared folders and set up their access rights in relation to users and user groups. Shared folders allow your NAS to become a file server. They are fundamental in sharing files with the outside world. Consequently, correctly setting up their access rights is very important in the management of your data.

  • Invisible in "Network" or "My Network Places": This setting only applies if you are using Microsoft Windows. When you enable this setting, your NAS will cease to automatically appear in "Network" or in "My Network Places". Please note that enabling this setting will not affect the connection to your NAS in any way.
  • Empty Recycle Bin: Click this button to empty all contents in this shared folder’s Recycle Bin immediately.
  • Encrypt this shared folder: Here you can choose whether or not you want to encrypt your shared folder and whether or not you want to auto-mount it at system startup. Should you choose to encrypt your folder, after the system restarts, you will have to manually enter the password or import the encryption key for the folder in order to access it. Encrypted folders are normally used for the storage of critical or confidential data. Should you lose your NAS you still needn’t worry about your data leaking out and falling into the wrong hands.
  • Convert to the new ASUSTOR encryption mechanism: This option will only appear under “Edit” for encrypted folders that have been encrypted using ASUSTOR’s previous encryption mechanism. Converting to the new encryption mechanism will require extra volume space in order to temporarily store all the files originally in the folder. This required space is the total capacity of all the files in the shared folder.
  • Export/import encrypted key: Selecting “Export encrypted key” will download the encrypted key to your computer. When you need to mount an encrypted folder, you can select “Enter Password” or “Import encrypted key” to mount the shared folder and begin accessing it. Reminder: You can choose to enable or disable encryption for folders even after they have been created. Encryption is available for use with all shared folders and is not just limited to system default folders. The access speed for encrypted folders will normally be slower than for unencrypted folders.
    Warning:
    1. When choosing to use encrypted shared folders, please make it a point to remember your password. Should you forget your password, the data in the shared folder will become unrecoverable.
    2. Older versions of ADM are unable to read the contents of shared folder encrypted using the new encryption mechanism introduced in ADM 2.4.0. If you wish to downgrade your firmware to 2.3.1 or an older version, please first decrypt any shared folders that have been encrypted using the new encryption mechanism before you begin downgrading.
  • NFS Privileges: Here you can set NFS privileges for individual folders after first enabling NFS service.

About Shared Folders

After initialization, the system will automatically create a shared folder "public". By default, all users can access the files in this folder. Additionally, the system will automatically create a personal folder for each user (using the user's account name) that by default, can only be accessed by the mentioned user.

Windows ACL: Here you can choose to enable or disable Windows ACL for specified shared folders.

About Windows ACL

  1. After enabling Windows ACL for a shared folder, the shared folder and all subfolders and files contained within it can be assigned user or group permissions.
  2. The following shared folders do not support Windows ACL permissions: Home, User Homes, PhotoGallery, Web, Surveillance, MyArchive, Network Recycle Bin, virtual devices, external devices (USB hard drives, optical drives).
  3. After enabling Windows ACL you will be able to use ADM’s File Explorer or Microsoft Windows Explorer to configure permissions. After disabling Windows ACL you will only be able to configure permissions from within ADM's File Explorer.
  4. If you enable Windows ACL and then later decide to disable it, all file and folders will be re-assigned with Read & Write permissions for all users.
  5. No matter if you are using Windows ACL or not, users will still require shared folder and file permissions in order to access files.
  • Folder – Access Rights: Shared folders access rights are the first level of access rights that will be examined. You can edit them here.

Permission Mapping Table

Deny Access Read & Write Read Only No Settings
Deny Access Deny Access Deny Access Deny Access Deny Access
Read & Write Deny Access Read & Write Read & Write Read & Write
Read Only Deny Access Read & Write Read Only Read Only
No Settings Deny Access Read & Write Read Only Deny Access


1 :  User access rights for shared folders
2 :  Group access rights for shared folders
Priority of access rights:Deny Access > Read & Write > Read Only > No settings