我们使用 cookie 来帮助我们改善网页体验。请阅读我们的 Cookie 政策

NAS 251

RAID 简介

介绍关于 RAID 的各种组态与逻辑,以及如何在 NAS 建立一个 RAID 储存空间。

2016-07-20

课程目的
完成此课程后您将能够
1.了解RAID的作用以及不同RAID等级的用途
2.能够建立新的 RAID Volume

必修项目
课程必修项目:

学生须先具备以下知识:
N/A

大纲
1. RAID 简介
1.1 什么是RAID?
1.2 不同的 RAID 等级
2.   设定你的 NAS
2.1 建立一个新的 RAID Volume




1. RAID 简介

1.1 什么是 RAID?
Redundant Array of Independent Disks (简称 RAID─磁盘阵列) ,是一种管理储存空间数据的技术。其主要原理是透过数据分散排列于多颗硬盘的设计来达成加速、备份、容错等机制。许多不同的数据分散排列方式已经标准化为各种的 RAID等级,每个 RAID 等级提供不同程度的数据保护、数据存取效能以及储存空间的取舍,例如某个 RAID等级可能提升数据的保护,但却减少了可用的储存空间;另一个RAID 等级可能增加了可用的储存空间,但却减低了数据存取效能。

切分
RAID能够利用将数据分散储存的技术,来提升数据存取的效能。透过数据切分方式将数据分散储存在多颗硬盘,可增加数据存取的速度。

镜射
透过镜射的储存技术,RAID 得以提升数据的保护。磁盘镜射技术能够将你硬盘内的数据复制至另一个硬盘,如此一来你的资料便可以得到保护。

1.2不同的 RAID 等级
下列为所有 ASUSTOR NAS 所支援的 RAID 等级
单一:使用单一硬盘建立储存空间,这种组态不提供任何的数据保护。
JBOD将多个硬盘合并成一个储存空间,可使用空间为所有硬盘容量的加总。这种组态的优点是能够将不同容量的硬盘合并成一个大的储存空间,但是这种组态不提供任何的数据保护,而且数据读取的效能低于 RAID 0。
RAID 0将多个硬盘合并成一个储存空间,可使用空间为所有硬盘容量的加总。这种组态的优点是能够将不同容量的硬盘合并成一个大的储存空间,但是这种组态不提供任何的数据保护。
RAID 1 RAID 1模式下你的数据将直接同时写入两颗硬盘成为 镜像对映”,任何时刻两颗硬盘上的数据都会完全相同,当其中一颗硬盘故障时,系统也能够正常运作。这种组态的优点是提供数据保护,RAID 1 的缺点是当你使用两颗不同容量的硬盘来建立RAID 组态时,可用的储存空间将会等于最小硬盘容量 。
可使用空间 = (最小硬盘容量) * (1)

RAID 5由三颗或以上的硬盘所组成,能够允许一颗硬盘故障而不会造成数据流失。当硬盘损坏时,你只需更换新的硬盘,系统将会自动替你重建RAID组态。RAID 5的优点是提供数据保护,然而如果你使用不同容量的硬盘来建立RAID 组态时,可用的储存空间将会以最小硬盘容量来计算 。
可使用空间 = (最小硬盘容量) * (硬盘总数- 1)

RAID 6由三颗或以上的硬盘所组成,能够允许两颗硬盘故障而不会造成数据流失。当硬盘损坏时,你只需更换新的硬盘,系统将会自动替你重建RAID组态。RAID 6的优点是提供数据保护,然而如果你使用不同容量的硬盘来建立RAID 组态时,可用的储存空间将会以最小硬盘容量来计算 。
可使用空间 = (最小硬盘容量) * (硬盘总数- 2)

RAID 10 (1+0) 由四颗或以上的硬盘所组成 ,可允许多颗硬盘故障而不会造成数据流失 (必须非相同的镜像对映硬盘),RAID 10  综合了 RAID 1的数据保护以及 RAID 0的数据访问速度。RAID 10 是利用 RAID 1 先将数据镜射到两组硬盘,再用 RAID 0 将所有硬盘分为两组。建立RAID 0 时需要四颗或以上的双数硬盘,当使用不同容量的硬盘来建立RAID 组态时,可用的储存空间将会以最小硬盘容量来计算 。
可使用空间 = (最小硬盘容量) * (硬盘总数 / 2)


2. 设定你的 NAS
2.1 建立一个新的 RAID volume
本章节我们为你将逐步解如何在 ASUSTOR NAS 上建立一个新的  RAID volume。在下列的范例中,NAS 原本以单颗硬盘建立了一个储存空间,我们将增加两颗新的硬盘,并示范如何以这两颗硬盘来建立新的储存空间。

步骤 1

请先将硬盘确实安装好,然后开启 [储存管理员] 。你可以看到硬盘群主页面已经有一个储存空间 “Volume1”,点击 [建立] 来建立新的储存空间。




步骤 2

选择 [快速设定]然后点选 [下一步]




步骤3

选择 [兼顾储存空间与数据防护] 然后点选 [下一步]





注意:

在这个步骤将询问你对于储存空间的需求,一般来说会有三种选项:1. 最大储存空间─这个配置将提供最大的储存空间;2. 较好的数据防护─这个配置将提供最好的数据保护;3. 兼顾储存空间与数据防护─这个配置将会在数据保护与储存使用空间上取得最佳平衡。我们将示范兼顾储存空间与数据防护这个配置。

根据你选择的配置方式与可用硬盘数量,储存空间精灵将会替新的储存空间选择最合适的 RAID等级,详细的选择的方式如下表


最大储存空间

硬盘数量

RAID 等级

1

Single

2

RAID 0

3

RAID 0

4

RAID 0

5

RAID 0

6

RAID 0

7

RAID 0

8

RAID 0

9

RAID 0

10

RAID 0

11

RAID 0

12

RAID 0





较好的资料防护

硬盘数量

RAID 等级

容许同时损坏硬盘数量

1

X

0

2

RAID 1

1

3

RAID 5

1

4

RAID 6

2

5

RAID 6

2

6

RAID 6

2

7

RAID 6

2

8

RAID 6

2

9

RAID 6

2

10

RAID 6

2

11

RAID 6

2

12

RAID 6

2









兼顾储存空间与数据防护

硬盘数量

RAID 等级

容许同时损坏硬盘数量

1

X

0

2

RAID 1

1

3

RAID 5

1

4

RAID 5

1

5

RAID 5

1

6

RAID 5

1

7

RAID 5

1

8

RAID 5

1

9

RAID 5

1

10

RAID 5

1

11

RAID 5

1

12

RAID 5

1









































步骤4

请在此详细检查精灵列出的设定总结,你可看到本范例中精灵将替新增的两颗硬盘选择 RAID1,此设定可允许一颗硬盘故障而不会毁损储存的数据,如果你确定要套用该设定,请点选 [完成]




步骤5

此时你将会看到 “Volume 2” 已被建立,右上方会显示数据同步的状况,此时 NAS已能够正常使用。*数据同步所需时间将因硬盘容量而有所差异。




此文章有帮助吗? /

We use cookies to help us improve our webpage. Please read our Cookie Policy .

NAS 251

Introduction to RAID

An overview of RAID and creating RAID volumes on the NAS.

2020-12-30

COURSE OBJECTIVES

Upon completion of this course you should be able to:
1. Have a basic understanding of RAID and its different configurations.
2. Be able to set up a new storage volume with RAID.


PREREQUISITES

Course Prerequisites:
None

Students are expected to have a working knowledge of:
None


OUTLINE

1. Introduction to RAID

1.1 What is RAID?

1.2 The different RAID levels

2. Configuring your NAS

2.1 Creating a new RAID Volume





1. Introduction to RAID

1.1 What is RAID?

RAID is a storage technology used to organize the data in your storage space (or storage volumes). RAID is short for redundant array of independent drives. It balances data protection, system performance, and storage space by determining how the storage system distributes data. Many different ways of distributing data have been standardized into various RAID levels. Each RAID level offers a tradeoff between data protection, system performance, and storage space. For example, one RAID level might improve data protection but reduce storage space. Another RAID level might increase storage space but also reduce system performance.

Striping

RAID is able to offer increased performance by using a data storage technique called striping. Data striping organizes the data on your hard drives in a way that allows for faster data access.

Mirroring

RAID offers increased data protection by using a data storage technique called mirroring. In mirroring, the data on your hard drives is replicated thereby producing data redundancy across your storage volume. This ensures greater protection for your data.



1.2 The different RAID levels

Below is a list of the different RAID levels that you can use with your ASUSTOR NAS.

Single : Only uses a single drive in the creation of storage space. This configuration does not offer any type of data protection.


JBOD : Uses a combination of two or more drives to create storage space. The total storage capacity is the capacities of all the drives added together. The advantage of this configuration is that it allows you to use different sized drives together and provides a large amount of storage space. The downside is that it does not offer any sort of data protection and has an access efficiency lower than RAID 0.


RAID 0 : Uses a combination of two or more drives to create storage space. The total storage capacity is the capacities of all the drives added together. The advantage of this configuration is that it allows you to use different sized drives together and provides a large amount of storage space. The downside is that it does not offer any sort of data protection.


RAID 1 : In RAID 1 your data is written identically on two drives, thereby producing a “mirrored set”. Exactly the same data is stored on the two drives at all times. RAID 1 protects your data from loss should one of your drives fail. RAID 1’s advantage is that it offers protection for your data by providing data redundancy. The downside of this configuration is that when combining two drives of differing sizes, the total storage space will be equal to the size of the smaller drive. Therefore, you will be unable to use a portion of the larger drive.

    Total available storage space = (size of smaller drive) * (1)


RAID 5 : Combines three or more drives to create a storage space that is able to support one failed drive. Should one of your drives fail, your data will still be protected from loss. In the event of drive failure, simply replace the failed drive with a new one. The new drive will automatically be accommodated into the RAID 5 configuration. The advantage of using RAID 5 is that is that it provides data protection through data redundancy. The downside to using RAID 5 is that when combining drives of differing sizes, the total storage space will be calculated based on the size of the smallest drive.

    Total available storage space = (size of smallest drive) * (total number of drives – 1)


RAID 6 : Combines four of more drives to create a storage space that is able to support two failed drives. Should two of your drives fail, your data will still be protected from loss. In the event of drive failure, simply replace the failed drives with new ones. The new drives will automatically be accommodated into the RAID 6 configuration. The advantage of using RAID 6 is that it is able to provide superior data protection through data redundancy. The downside to using RAID 6 is that when combining drives of differing sizes, the total storage space will be calculated based on the size of the smallest drive.

    Total available storage space = (size of smallest drive) * (total number of drives – 2)


RAID 10 (1+0) : Combines four or more drive to create a storage space that is able to support multiple failed drives (as long as the failed drives do not belong to the same “mirrored set”). RAID 10 provides the data protection of RAID 1 along with the access efficiency of RAID 0. With respect to data protection, RAID 10 uses the RAID 1 method of having the exact same data written identically on two drives, producing “mirrored sets”. These “mirrored sets” are then combined together in a RAID 0 configuration. RAID 10 requires an even number of four or more drives. When combining drives of differing sizes, the total storage space will be calculated based on the size of the smallest drive.

    Total available storage space = (size of smallest drive) * (total number of drives / 2)




2. Configuring your NAS

2.1 Creating a new RAID Volume

In this section we will go through the steps for creating a new storage volume with a RAID level. In the following example, the ASUSTOR NAS that we are using already has a storage volume set up with 1 hard drive. We have just inserted 2 new hard drives and will walk you through the process of creating a new storage volume using these 2 drives.

STEP 1

  • After inserting the 2 new hard drives into the ASUSTOR NAS open [Storage Manager]. Under the Volume section you will see that there already is an existing “Volume 1” storage volume. Click on [Create] to begin the process of creating another storage volume.


STEP 2

  • The Volume Setup Wizard window will now appear. Select the [Quick setup] radio button and click [Next].


STEP 3

  • Select the [Balanced] radio button and click [Next].


Note:

At this screen you will be asked about your data storage requirements. The Volume Setup Wizard is generally able to offer you three different options to choose from. You can choose “Maximum capacity” if you wish to maximize the amount of storage space available, “Superior data protection” if you wish to have increased protection for your data or “Balanced” for a balance between storage capacity and data protection benefits. In our example we have decided to select “Balanced”.


Depending on the number of drives and the option that you select, the Volume Setup Wizard will then make a decision about the RAID level to use for the new volume. This is all summarized in the tables below.

Number of drives Maximum capacity Superior data protection Balanced
RAID level RAID level Faulty drives tolerated RAID level Faulty drives tolerated
1 Single X 0 X 0
2 RAID 0 RAID 1 1 RAID 1 1
3 RAID 0 RAID 5 1 RAID 5 1
4 RAID 0 RAID 6 2 RAID 5 1
5 ~ 16 RAID 0 RAID 6 2 RAID 5 1


STEP 4

  • Look over a final summary of your settings. You can see that the wizard has helped us to select the RAID 1 configuration for a balance between data protection and storage capacity. You can also see that RAID 1 permits 1 faulty drive. This means that in the event that one of the drives for this volume should fail, your data will still remain complete. Finally you can see the two drives that are ready to be used to create the new storage volume. Once you’re ready, confirm your settings by clicking [Finish].


STEP 5

  • You will now see the newly created “Volume 2” under the Volume tab of storage manager. You will also see that the new storage volume is still in the process of being built. At this time your NAS will be ready for use. Please note that the time required for synchronization varies according to hard drive capacity.


Was this article helpful? Yes / No