We use cookies to help us improve our webpage. Please read our Cookie Policy .

NAS 252

Introducing ASUSTOR Snapshot Center

Learn how to use Snapshot Center for data backup, restore and management

2019-07-04

COURSE OBJECTIVES

Upon completion of this course you should be able to:
1. Use ASUSTOR Snapshot Center to create, restore, and manage Volume and iSCSI LUN snapshots


PREREQUISITES

Course Prerequisites:
N/A

Students are expected to have a working knowledge of:
N/A


OUTLINE

1. Introducing ASUSTOR Snapshot Center

2. Create Btrfs Volume

2.1 Initialize NAS

2.2 Recreate Volume

3. Introducing Snapshot Center

3.1 Overview

3.2 Volume

3.3 iSCSI LUN





1. Introducing ASUSTOR Snapshot Center

ADM 3.3 arrives with the capability to perform volume snapshots with Snapshot Center and Btrfs. Snapshot Center makes it easier to manage, schedule, create and restore snapshots. Schedules can be set to create snapshots or be manually created at any time. Snapshots also make it incredibly easy to restore previous versions of files and can be integrated with existing iSCSI LUNs in Snapshot Center with all volume snapshots for easy browsing and restoration.

Applicable Models: AS31, 32, 40, 50, 51, 52, 53, 61, 62, 63, 64 and 70. Snapshot Center will not display Volume snapshots information in other models.




2. Create Btrfs Volume

Volumes must be formatted with Btrfs to support snapshots, so creating Btrfs Volume first before using.



2.1 Initialize NAS

Select "1-Click Setup" or "Custom Setup" to start initialization if you start to initialize a new NAS with ADM 3.3 or above. Select Btrfs in the setting wizard. After initialization, Volume 1 will be formatted as Btrfs.


  • Select "1-Click Setup" or "Custom Setup"


  • 1-Click Setup


  • Custom Setup Volume Settings



  • 2.2 Recreate Volume

    Ext4 Volume cannot be migrated to Btrfs directly. If you want to upgrade Volume 1 to Btrfs, you need to back up the files and system settings in Volume 1 and then import the files and system settings back after recreating Volume 1.

    Note: After Volume 1 is recreated, NAS Apps need to be installed again.


    Step 1

    • Recreating the Volume will reformat the file system. Therefore, you need to back up the data in the original volume storage to other devices. You can use FTP, Rsync, MyArchive, external devices or the way you used usually to backup data.
    • Click [Backup & Restore] in ADM, and select [System Settings] [Export Settings] to back up system settings.


    Step 2

    • After the data backup is complete, click [Storage Manager] in ADM
    • Select [Volume 1]
    • Click [Remove], the volume need to be removed before recreation.


    Step 3

    • Select as Btrfs from "Quick setup" or "Advanced setup" in Volume Setup Wizard, and ADM will format the volume as Btrfs.
    • Copy the data back to this new Volume.

  • Quick setup

  • Advanced setup


  • Step 4

    • Click [Backup & Restore] in ADM, and select [System Settings] [Import Settings] to import system settings.




    3. Introducing Snapshot Center

    3.1 Overview

    Overview for Btrfs Volume and iSCSI LUN snapshots.

    • History:Search snapshots by its created date.
    • Scheduled Tasks:List the scheduled tasks information.



    3.2 Volume

    Display Btrfs volume snapshots information.


    • Manual creation: Click the icon to create a snapshot.


    • Scheduling: Click the icon to schedule snapshots to run regularly. Scheduled snapshots will be named using the date and time created.
      1. Once: Users can create a snapshot at specific date and time.
      2. Daily: Users can set a minimum of 5 minutes or up to 12 hours to create a snapshot.
      3. Weekly: One or more days of the week can be set to create snapshots with options for daily included.


    Snapshots can be locked and retention rules can be set. Snapshot Center limits saved snapshots to 256. Upon reaching the limit, schedules can be terminated or Snapshot Center will automatically remove the oldest unlocked snapshot. When a snapshot is locked, it will not be removed automatically.


    • Restore: Before the snapshot is restored, users can create a new snapshot before the restore and choose whether to keep the snapshot after the restore.


    • Edit: Edit the information of the snapshot.


    • Remove: Remove selected snapshot. With the Shift key, you can select multiple snapshots to remove.
    • Note: ADM will stop creating snapshots if a new snapshot exceeds the maximum amount of snapshots while all previous snapshots are locked. Users need to manually remove the locked snapshots and then can create snapshots again.


    • Preview: The volume snapshots can activate to preview in ADM File Explorer.


    • Preview files from snapshots in File Explorer, users can copy or download files contained within snapshots to restore the event of corruption or other forms of data loss.




    3.3 iSCSI LUN

    Display iSCSI LUN snapshots information.


    • Manual creation: Click the icon to create a snapshot.


    • Scheduling: Click the icon to schedule snapshots to run regularly. Scheduled snapshots will be named using the date and time created.
      1. Once: Users can create a snapshot at specific date and time.
      2. Daily: Users can set a minimum of 5 minutes or up to 12 hours to create a snapshot.
      3. Weekly: One or more days of the week can be set to create snapshots with options for daily included.



    • Restore: Select one iSCSI LUN snapshot to restore.


    • Edit: Edit the information of the snapshot.


    • Remove: Remove selected snapshot. With the Shift key, you can select multiple snapshots to remove.
    • Note: ADM will stop creating snapshots if a new snapshot exceeds the maximum amount of snapshots while all previous snapshots are locked. Users need to manually remove the locked snapshots and then can create snapshots again.

    Was this article helpful? Yes / No